TRAINING AVAILABLE
ON YOUR SCHEDULE

Select from the menu to find training specialized for you.

Teachers Students Parents

Looking for
professional Development?

Use the search bar or click on the tool you'd like to learn about.

Providing training on GoogleCanvasWeVideoGmailSlidesSitesNearpodfor you.

Tech Tip of the Week

  • October 19, 2021 - Remind Class Settings
    Written by

    One of the most beneficial things you can do when getting acquainted with any new program is to become familiar with its settings and features.  Today we are going to dive into the different class setting options in Remind, and what they can do for you!

    Class settings

    Class settings differ from account settings in that they are specific to that class.  Settings can vary from class to class depending on your preferences.  To locate the settings, open the class and select the “Settings” tab across the top.   The first thing you’ll come across on the settings page is the option of renaming the class, changing the icon, etc.  This is also a place where you can locate the access code for the class.  The second section is where the bulk of the adjustments will probably be made.  Let’s look there a little more in-depth.

    remind settings

    Class visibility is on as a default setting.  That allows you to see the class in your class list on the main page.  The next option is a restriction for those joining your class.  If you want to approve those who join your class, simply click that button on--the default setting is off.  Participant messaging is the big kahuna in this section because it determines what enrollees are allowed to do as far as communication goes.  If you don’t want students to be able to message each other, you can restrict that access here.  As a side note, any time someone responds to a message you send to an entire class in Remind, only the teacher will see the response.  This doesn’t require any adjustments to be made in the settings.

    remind archive

    The bottom of the settings page has an archiving section.  Here you have the option to archive the class you are finished with using.  If you are looking to just get rid of the class, go ahead and click the “Archive Class” button. If you were interested in reusing the class code--maybe you personalized your code and you want to reuse it--you click on the “Reuse Class Code” option.  That will eliminate messages and participants in the class, and allow you to use that same code to add new participants.

    in Tech Tip Tuesdays
    Tags: Remind
    Read 19 times
  • October 12, 2021 - Create a Class in Remind
    Written by

    Not only is Remind a great tool to use in the classroom, but it also works great for coaches and advisors! If you are over a group of students (teams, clubs, groups, etc.), here is how you can create a Remind group and enroll them for quick messaging possibilities.  Let’s do it. 

     

    Creating a Class in Remind

    To create a class, click on the “Add Class” button on the top left of the home screen, then select “Create Class.” When the pop-up appears, give it a name, make sure it’s part of your school domain, and select the button agreeing to only message people older than 13.  

     

    add a class in remind




    Populating Your New Class

    When you create your own class in Remind, it won’t auto-populate like our classes do.  That means you will have to manually enroll people, and there are several ways to accomplish this.  To get started, open the new class in Remind, a blue button will appear on the top right corner that says “Add People” click there. Now, you have two options:




    OPTION #1

     You then have the option to add students, parents, or other teachers (assistant coaches/advisors) by hand.  This is time-consuming, but beneficial because you can ensure that everyone you want to be added to the class gets input.  You will need a name and an email address for each enrollee, which can be found in mystudent. Once you input all their information, you just click the “Add People” button on the bottom. 

    add people manually

    OPTION #2

    On the left-hand side of the screen, you will see a selection of options to help people self enroll in the class.  This option is much less time-consuming for you but doesn’t guarantee enrollment. The options include projecting the instructions for enrollment, which would be beneficial to do during a team meeting or parent meeting.  Another option would be emailing out the instructions to those you want to be enrolled.  The email will include a link for them to click on that will enroll them into the course.  The whole process is pretty slick.  You can also print a PDF to hand out or send home.  All the options are simple for enrollees to complete, so just determine which meets your needs best! 

    email out instructions image

    Once you have your class created and populated, you’re good to start messaging, sharing files, and keeping the line of communication open to your group.  Have fun!  

    in Tech Tip Tuesdays
    Tags: Remind
    Read 29 times

Most Recent Articles

Most Popular Articles