October 19, 2021 - Remind Class Settings

Written by

One of the most beneficial things you can do when getting acquainted with any new program is to become familiar with its settings and features.  Today we are going to dive into the different class setting options in Remind, and what they can do for you!

Class settings

Class settings differ from account settings in that they are specific to that class.  Settings can vary from class to class depending on your preferences.  To locate the settings, open the class and select the “Settings” tab across the top.   The first thing you’ll come across on the settings page is the option of renaming the class, changing the icon, etc.  This is also a place where you can locate the access code for the class.  The second section is where the bulk of the adjustments will probably be made.  Let’s look there a little more in-depth.

remind settings

Class visibility is on as a default setting.  That allows you to see the class in your class list on the main page.  The next option is a restriction for those joining your class.  If you want to approve those who join your class, simply click that button on--the default setting is off.  Participant messaging is the big kahuna in this section because it determines what enrollees are allowed to do as far as communication goes.  If you don’t want students to be able to message each other, you can restrict that access here.  As a side note, any time someone responds to a message you send to an entire class in Remind, only the teacher will see the response.  This doesn’t require any adjustments to be made in the settings.

remind archive

The bottom of the settings page has an archiving section.  Here you have the option to archive the class you are finished with using.  If you are looking to just get rid of the class, go ahead and click the “Archive Class” button. If you were interested in reusing the class code--maybe you personalized your code and you want to reuse it--you click on the “Reuse Class Code” option.  That will eliminate messages and participants in the class, and allow you to use that same code to add new participants.

Read 97 times